African Banker Awards 2020 Nominees

The Africa Banker Awards 2020 will be different compared to the previous years.

This year due to COVID-19 pandemic, the awards ceremony will be held virtually on 26th August 2020 when the winners will be announced.

This is the most prestigious Banking awards in Africa patronized by the African Development Bank.

Here are the African Banker Awards Nominees for the year 2020;

African Banker of the Year

Ade Ayeyemi – Ecobank
Tarek Fayed - Banque du Caire, Egypt
Joao Figueiredo – MozaBanco, Mozambique
James Mwangi – Equity Bank, Kenya
Herbert Wigwe - Access Bank, Nigeria

African Bank of the Year

Access Bank
Attijariwafa Bank
Guaranty Trust Bank
Trade and Development Bank

Investment Bank of the Year

Bank of America
Rand Merchant Bank

Award for Financial Inclusion

Carbon, Nigeria
Equity Bank, Kenya
Financial Regulatory Authority of Egypt
Jumo, South Africa
Kenya Women Microfinance Bank

Innovation in Banking

Absa, Regional Operations
Standard Bank, South Africa
Trade and Development Bank

Socially Responsible Bank of the Year

Attijariwafa Bank, Morocco
Banque Misr, Egypt
East African Development Bank
Equity Bank, Kenya
Standard Bank, South Africa

Deal of the Year - Equity

Access Acquisition of Diamond Bank - Chapel Hill Denham / Citi
Airtel Dual Listing - Citi
Clover Buy-out and De-listing - RMB
Helios Towers IPO - Standard Bank / RenCap / EFG Hermes / BOA and Jeffries
MTN Nigeria IPO - Chapel Hill Denham

Deal of the Year - Debt

Access Bank Green Bond - Chapel Hill Denham
AFC Kimchi Syndication – Nedbank/Shinhan Bank
Bank of Industry €1bn syndicated senior loan facility - BOI / Afreximbank / Credit Suisse
Cable Wireless Seychelles LBO - TDB
IHS$1.8bn dual currency facility - RMB / Citi
Project Isanti (Nampak funding facility) - Standard Bank

Infrastructure Deal of the Year

Acorn Green Bond - GuarantCo and Standard Bank
Gel Utility Nigeria – Infracredit
Nouakchott Port Financing - Hogan Lovells
Port of Maputo - Standard Bank
Standard Gauge Railway, Tanzania - CRDB

Energy Deal of the Year

Eranove Kekeli Power - Oragroup
Genser Energy Ghana - Standard Bank
Renewable Energy Bond - Nedbank
Rufiji Dam Tanzania - CRDB / Afreximbank
Sahara Power Assets - FBN

Agriculture Deal of the Year

Agri Exim - Absa Uganda
French Beans Project - Equity Bank
Kenya Women Microfinance Bank and USAID Kenya Investment Mechanism
Olam Rice Farm - Access Bank
Phoenix Trade Finance Facility - Afreximbank

SME Bank of the year

Bank of Industry, Nigeria
Bank Misr, Egypt
NBC, Tanzania
Sterling Bank, Nigeria

Source; African Banking Awards


Write a comment